Strategy and Innovation Advisory Committee


Advisory Committees are established to provide advice to the elected Council on matters of strategic significance, and to provide advice to CN on implementation of relevant matters aligned to the Newcastle 2030 Community Strategic Plan. Advisory Committees may make recommendations to Council or a Committee of Council, but no functions are delegated to them by CN.

The Strategy & Innovation Advisory Committee will provide advice and guidance on the development of strategies, and identification of challenges and opportunities, in relation to activation of Newcastle as a destination leading in innovative technologies, smart infrastructure, high value investment, major events and tourism.


Membership to this Committee includes:

  • Deputy Lord Mayor Cr Declan Clausen - Chair
  • Cr Charlotte McCabe - Deputy Chair
  • Cr Callum Pull
  • Representatives from stakeholder organisations (Alex Zelinsky from University of Newcastle, Bob Hawes from Hunter Business Chamber, Alison McGaffin from Regional NSW, Joe James from Hunter Joint Organisation, Larry Platt from Emergent Group)
  • Up to three community representatives (Rhett Morson).

The Committee's adopted Guidelines for Meeting Practice provides additional detail on the responsibility of members.

Meeting Schedule

Meetings will be held quarterly, on the first Tuesday of the month commencing at 5:30pm.

The meeting schedule will be added following adoption at the first meeting.

Meeting Agendas

Meeting papers will be uploaded one week prior to the meeting.

Terms of Reference

Download the Terms of Reference (PDF)